Trip Report: Star Wars Galaxy's Edge Annual Pass holder Preview Saturday August 17, 2019 part 1

This is my first try at doing a trip report, so here it goes. I am going to go into detail about what I saw, so if you want to maintain the element of surprise for your first visit please do not read any further.

We went to the Annual Passholder preview of Star Wars Galaxy’s Edge at Disney’s Hollywood Studios this past Saturday. When I say we, I am referring to my DW, our DD14 and myself. We live in the north suburban area of Atlanta, 480 miles door to door from our home to WDW, about 7 hours of driving time. I’ll skip to the chase and get to visit.

We got the 1-5PM time slot for Saturday, August 17th. We could not leave Atlanta till after 6 PM on Friday evening due to DD’s after school activities. So, we drove halfway to Valdosta, GA and spent a night in a hotel. After a good night’s sleep and a quick breakfast, we were on the road around 8 AM and pulling into HS parking lot just before 11:30 AM.

Things went quickly, no lines at the parking gates, no wait for a tram, not much of a crowd with the bag check lines were only 2-4 deep and no line at all at the AP touchpoints. We were quickly inside the park in 15 minutes. We headed straight over Grand Avenue to check in for our 1 PM appointment.

As we approached the entrance to SWGE, I was surprised to see no guests waiting, only a half dozen CM standing there waiting. We provided the printed copy of our confirmation; the CM checked our photo IDs and scanned our AP cards and we were allowed to enter into SWGE. The only issue was a minor one. We also had signed up for building a lightsaber at Savi’s Workshop. The CM who checked us into SWGE also accidentally checked us in for Savi at the same time. There was a second set of CM’s off to the side who were handling the secondary reservations like Savi’s & Oga’s. They quickly worked it out and handed us small cards with a 12:30 PM reservation time to Savi’s workshop.