Tips for Hopping to WS?

My third solo trip is coming up next month (yay!) and this will be my first time doing any park hopping. Even though I had an AP for my last trip, I have always stuck with one park per day in the past. This time, I plan to park hop on a few days, mostly for the purpose of being able to eat more of my meals in WS.

I am also trying to organize my plans so that I minimize walking in the heat of the day. My other trips have been during the winter months. This is my first time braving the middle of May and I’m currently stuck in that “what was I thinking??” stage. I have a chronic health condition that requires me to be careful about sun exposure, plus I generally don’t tolerate high temps very well. My strategy is to plan leisurely TS meals and indoor shows/long attractions in the hottest part of the day and just take things really slow and easy overall.

These two plans don’t seem to be meshing well, however. Hopping over to WS for meals in the middle of the day means I will be walking across the largest and least shaded park…in the middle of the day. :confused: One solution would be to hop to WS for dinners when it’s not as hot, but I really enjoy the nighttime shows in all four parks so I don’t want to end every day in Epcot.

I have never used the IG…is there a good way for me to get to WS through IG if I’m not staying at an Epcot-area resort? I’m not too concerned about how long it takes (remember, leisurely is good!) and I will have a car for the whole trip. Can I park at a nearby resort and use IG so I don’t have to trek all the way through FW and around the lagoon to get to my favorite countries?