The Good, the Bad, & the Ugly: A Collection of Thoughts Post-Trip

I named my trip report after my favorite western because even though this was a good trip, there were some bad and ugly parts. First, the basics: 6 adults, 3 kids, ages 14, 9, and 7. My family (2 adults, the 14 and 7-year-old), my parents, my sister, my new brother-in-law, and my nephew (the 9-year-old). My family and parents came from Washington state, and my sister’s family came from Southern California. We were in Florida for a week. We stayed in a rental property about 20 minutes from WDW in Kissimmee. We did one day in each park. I’ve never written a trip report before, so I’m unsure how much detail to include. Still, I can fill in more information in the comments if people are interested. Unlike the western title, I’m going to start with the ugly and end with the good because I want to end on a positive note.

The Ugly: Covid and rental car fiasco.
The worst part of the trip was that we all came home and tested positive for Covid. Another issue was that my dad had rented a passenger van so we could all drive together. When we arrived at the airport, passenger vans were not available. They suggested we check in Orlando when we got there. They offered us an Expedition, but we would still be one seat short. Because of crazy flight prices, my parents and I had to fly into Tampa and meet my sister in Orlando. Once my dad contacted customer service in Orlando, they still didn’t have his passenger van. When he asked if they would give him a second smaller car, they refused and blamed him for taking a car that wouldn’t work for us! This resulted in some of us having to rideshare to and from the parks and everywhere else every day.

The Bad: Poor guest behavior, unhelpful crowd calendar/TP app, homesickness.