Tell me why I'm wrong — if I am

I have a trip booked for October. I really want to cancel it.

1. I had a trip booked for June. I cancelled it. I felt a huge wave of relief when I did so. Why? I hate uncertainty. I’d rather know I was definitely not going than not be sure whether I was going or not.

2. These are uncertain economic times. I’m a private tutor. The UK government cancelled all public exams. So no-one needs a tutor right now. I fared better than a lot of tutors — well over half of my students kept me on — but my income is unstable and not guaranteed. Additionally I am entitled to zero government support. I’m on my own.

3. I’ve taken five trips since (and including) August 2017. I feel like I’ve lost a little of that early magic. Maybe a break from WDW will help it come back. Maybe I’ve become spoilt.

4. WDW and CMs are absolutely entitled to require themselves and guests to wear masks. No argument from me about that. But I want no part of it. It’s ghoulish and antithetical to the Kingdom being Magical. For me. YMMV. That’s my choice. I’m not complaining. I’m simply stating where I am.

So I’m really feeling like I want to cancel the hotel and the extras. Added to the money I’d put aside to cover costs during the trip (food and transportation) I’d be up about $3,000, which is about a month’s income for me. (Well, pre-Covid.)

I would be left with two 14 day park hopper tickets that are valid till the end of next year. And a UOR AP that hasn’t been activated yet. I also have an open airline ticket with Virgin Atlantic. So I could do a trip next year some time and would “only” need to pay for accommodations, food and transportation (by which I mean Ubers). Presumably in a year’s time we’ll have a much better idea what the hell is going on.