Space 220 opening September 2021

I’m eagerly awaiting the opening of Space 220, and decided to start this thread to focus efforts on staying updated. There has not been much substantial news lately, except the opening timeframe has been narrowed to “April”. As of today (3/10), there are job openings listed for cashier, host, cook, dishwasher, and runner/busser. It has been a LONG time since I worked in the service industry, but based on these job listings, I would guess they are planning to open closer to the beginning of April. What do you all think?

13 Likes

Depends on whether the staff have to undergo Disney training (“Traditions” and so on).

I don’t know what the rules are when an outside company runs the restaurant, but I’m guessing they will have to do the basic WDW training as CMs.

1 Like

Any idea how long that takes? A 1-2 day thing or like a week? I can’t imagine the back-of-house CMs requiring extensive “Disney” training. Hosts, certainly.

ALL CMs get extensive training.

To be Disney you have to understand the entire history, culture, and philosophy!

3 Likes

True, but I think it’s been shortened to a day. Then you get costume fitting, and also get park orientation. And then I think you start actually learning the job itself.

So not a long time, but I don’t know how often it runs, whether it’s each week or less often.

And although dish washers clearly don’t have a lot to learn about the actual role, the front of house staff will need much longer. And the restaurant can’t open until they’re ready.

1 Like

I too am hoping to add this to my April trip. However not looking too likely. May need to wait till Sept . I am heading home to today so I will resume my morning vigil looking for availability. I will be watching this thread.

1 Like