Small breaks/distractions

This is my first time to WDW and I am honchoing the trip. My family has mostly bought into the idea of having a touring plan (or at least they are letting me think they are). Right now our first MK day is pretty packed, my mother in law reviewed the plan and mentioned that there isn’t any time on the plan for bathroom breaks, which is true. Looking at the “free time” on the TP it looks like we don’t have any until the afternoon.

I am wondering how other people account for things like that. I will also have my almost 5 year old with us, so I figure there may be other distractions along the way that slow us down. I started adding in little 5-10 minute breaks every hour or so, but I didn’t know if there was a simpler way of doing it or if that some how works itself out by setting the walking speed to relaxed.

I’ve never built bathroom breaks into the plan… unless it’s a large group all traveling together (which just takes longer to do everything, in general) it doesn’t take more than a few minutes and I’ve never found that a TP has to be followed down to the second. To be on the safe side I ALWAYS set the walking speed to relaxed, so that may be part of my success.

2 Likes

Use slow walking pace. Add a 15 min break every 2hrs and allow 60 mins for cs meals and 90 mins for ts meals is how we do it.

1 Like

I don’t account for that stuff, or shops, or grabbing a snack, or just sitting for a moment. IMO that’s when you are starting to get too rigid.

1 Like

Ok, thanks, after I started adding in the breaks it felt like I was missing the broader point of this and may be going into over plan mode. Just needed a sanity check

2 Likes

Definitely set to slowest walking speed and a 15 min break every 2-3 hours (when there isn’t lunch or dinner) really helps keep the plan on track with young kids. Because bathroom breaks aren’t quick with kids! And you may want to stop have an ice cream :smiley: