See and do Hollywood in a day?

I will currently have 1 full day to venture out of the DL bubble and wondered what all I can or should see and do in and around LA. I am also debating extending my trip a couple days to fully give the area attention and a proper visit. I’ll be solo and without a car so whatever I do needs to be Uber/public transit accessible. Any suggestions, tips, tricks, or advice are welcome.

1 Like

I’m not an expert in the best things to see in LA, but I would recommend taking an Uber to Hollywood and Highland and walking around that area. That’s where all the touristy stuff is (Chinese theater, walk of fame, etc.). Also that’s a short drive from Universal Studios if that’s on your agenda (a half day isn’t a bad idea if you just want to see the highlights or what’s different from UOR).

There are lots of smaller studio tours, museums, diversions, Rodeo Drive, etc. Most additional stops will require an Uber.

2 Likes

That’s a good idea to hit the highlights. I didn’t know if it would be worth it to spend a few days there doing tours and such. I saw Warner Brothers has a studio tour and then I know there are lots of other sightseeing ones.

2 Likes

You will definitely need to Uber. Public transit won’t get you what you need and the taxi’s are non-existent. LA is really sprawling so plan on those costing some $$. IMO LA was impossible without a car before Uber/Lyft so it is great there is that option.

If you are going to stay a night in LA, stalk the Lowes Hollywood hotel to see if you can get a room for around $200-$230. It is right next door to the Chinese theater, and across the street from the El Capitan theater (where Disney movies premier) and the Disney Studios Store Hollywood (exclusive pins) and soda fountain.

It is also an easy Uber to the studios, Griffin Observatory and the Tar pits.