Security, I can save you so much time!

Day one of our first trip ever to Disney began at HS. We got to the park around 8:30 and maneuvered through the turnstiles and security. HS had a crowd level of 7 that day, though I didn’t think it was too busy. We packed only two back packs for our group of 10, one of which was basically a diaper bag. I let my husband rearrange the bag to his liking…against my better judgement since I was headed this whole entourage. BIG mistake!!! He packed it so very well organized (using every little compartment and slot) that it took him 10 minutes to make it through security!!! Even longer when you account for the time he waited in line. The people behind him were not pleased. So I vowed from then on out, I will pack the bag. By day 5 I was a veteran. Here is the trick:
Zip lock bags. Like three gallon sized bags.
One held our first aid, sunscreen and meds.
One held 4 frozen water bottles.
One held extra clothing and snacks.
Before I got to the table I opened all compartments. At the table I pulled out all of the bags. The Security guard smiled and said, " PERFECT! you could teach people". Do it. Save time. Enjoy!

26 Likes

Thanks for the tip! We fly out tomorrow!!

I found one of these best things to do is to not use a backpack at all, instead take along one of those 1-pocket cinch-strap bags. You can pick them up from anywhere from free (Comcast, Verizon, and Apple give them out for free when you make a purchase) to around $20.

big enough to carry your essentials (you can’t make like your camping in the park, but meds, snacks, and drinks are easy enough)
Only 1 pocket, so security doesn’t need to go through everything unzipping things, and coupled with your ziplock bag thing (which I can attest to), you will breeze right through security
The string-straps actually aren’t uncomfortable (I was afraid they would be), and actually are a big help in keeping cool cause no heat builds up under them

4 Likes

Great advice!!!