Pop vs. Shades of Green?

Hello! I was helping a friend plan her trip this morning and we priced 5 nights in December at Pop w/ free dining/park hopper tix. Her family can get the military discounted tickets somewhere so we priced those along w/ 5 nights at SoG (after confirming which rate class they qualify for). When we estimated roughly what they’d out of pocket for food - because I don’t think you have the DDP option at SoG, am I correct on this? If not somebody please let me know as I have no experience w/ SoG! - the grand total was only about a $200 difference, and that’s not taking into account the refillable mugs w/ the DDP and magicbands/ability to make FP+ selections 60 days out vs. 30.
The real question I have for her is does anyone have experience at one or both of these resorts? We’re WL addicts ourselves and have never stayed elsewhere. How is Pop? Anything I should know and tell her? And SoG, any reviews there?

Long time SoG guest and also experience at POP. Up front, I’ll say I don’t do the DDP or FD, so all meals are OOP for me. Factoring out the food, POP is the cheaper option - even more so if you get a military discount on a room (but you couldn’t bundle this with a meal plan). SoG does NOT offer the DDP.

SOG is basically a deluxe resort; the rooms are larger than the GF, it has internal hallways, and a nice lobby and landscaping. The pool is not spectacular, but it’s fine for getting wet. They may have added a water slide since the last time I was there.