People sick from drinking from water fountains from Disney Parks

Has anyone heard about this. A friend of a friend just called. She and her son just returned from a band/Disney trip. They all came down with gastrointestinal “worms.” They have been in contact with Disney officials. They were refilling water bottles in fountains. This is all that I know. Apparently this person is not someone who would make something up or embellish a story. Anyone heard about this? Drink bottled water!!!

I’m not a doctor, but I believe gastrointestinal parasites take weeks to develop in humans and are highly unlikely to come from water fountains. Perhaps there is a Liner MD who can give us info, better than my memory.

I have frequently used WDW water fountains and have never had any adverse effects. I’m sure that the WDW water is sampled/inspected probably more than your own tap water, and something like this would have been caught. And there is virtually no mechanism to contract intestinal parasites from drinking water…

Aaa maybe there will be more information forthcoming. They were taken by ambulance to a hospital in Pittsburgh upon landing at the airport.

Keep us updated with the details as you find out. I am a nurse practitioner and my husband is a pathologist. It seems unlikely to get worms from a water fountain in a developed country although I guess it is possible if the fountain had been contaminated by a sick individual first. There is a parasite called Cryptosporidium that is highly contagious that you can get from swimming in pools (even chlorine can’t kill it very well) or drinking from something that someone has touched who is sick with it. I’m interested to see what the parasite is.

1 Like

I drank from lots of water fountains on my WDW trip, didn’t hassle with water bottle. I agree with others that this seems odd, so I’m interested in how this turns out.