Park Hopping and FastPass Frustration

This is my first time really using the park-hopping strategy and I’m getting really confused.

On Day #2, we’re planning to start at HS at 8am for EMH, take the mid-day break, and then hop over to Epcot for the rest of the day, including dinner at Biergarten. On day #3, we’re doing the opposite: starting at Epcot at 9am for rope-drop, then hopping back to HS after the mid-day break.

Even though it’s super-early, I’ve been playing around with touring plans and fastpass strategies. I like the commonly recommended advice to RD the headliners at the morning park and save the fastpasses for the second park in the late afternoon and evening. But Epcot is driving me crazy!

We will all likely want to do Soarin’, but will probably split into two groups: one that does Test Track and one that does Frozen Ever After. I assumed I could rope-drop Soarin’ and then use fastpasses for Test Track/FEA, but the plans I get seem to think Soarin’ will have a longer wait than Frozen and I should use the fastpass for Soarin’ instead. Is anyone else finding that?

Do most of you save your fastpasses for the afternoon park when you’re parkhopping?

Thanks in advance!

I think TP’s wait time estimates for FEA are still off. Maybe it’s still just too new for them to have accurate data, but whatever the case, I think you’re wait at FEA will almost always be longer than a wait at soarin’. Just check out the wait times on here or on MDE app periodically-FEA always has a longer wait than soarin or TT when I check. I think your strategy to RD soarin, then fpp for either TT or FEA sounds good.