Our First Non-Disney Orlando Trip

We’ve done Disney several times and I’m a huge planner, so I almost feel like I could be a TA myself for those trips. We’re now considering the non-Disney part of Orlando, so I feel like a complete novice. I’ve been to Universal (Studios only) once 20 years ago and the rest of my family (hubby, 13yo son and 7yo daughter) have never been.

Looking for any advice, but specifically:

I’m considering the following (but definitely not set in stone on any of this yet):
-Saturday-Saturday arriving first Saturday in June. We may drive so would need to plan very light on arrival day and nothing on departure day
-Sunday, Monday & Tuesday - Park to Park (2 park) US and IOA only, 3 days
-Wednesday - Friday - SeaWorld, Busch Gardens and possibly a rest day
-When we’re at Disney, we aren’t an open to close family. We typically rope drop and then leave early to mid afternoon. We’ll sometimes return early evening.

Specific Questions:

1. If we stay at a premium resort to get Express Pass Unlimited, do we need more than 3 days at Universal? Or is that sufficient?
  2. Would you recommend staying the entire stay in a premium resort? Or doing a split stay?
  3. What character meals are available and are they open (or do we know if they will be by that time)?
  4. How flexible is Universal with changes to your package?

Thanks in advance for any help.

1 Like

My family easily accomplished everything we wanted to in 3 days, including Volcano Bay. We didn’t ride everything, but we didn’t want to, and instead did repeats (mostly focused on Harry Potter and Jurassic Park). Three full park days should be plenty, IMO, but you could do more days and take a slower pace / experience secondary attractions and not get bored.

I really like the premium resorts, but Cabana Bay looks like a great option if you want to do a split stay.

2 Likes