NPR: For some adults Disney is like a religion

Weren’t we talking something about this the other day???

Oh I see that it was the Reddit thing that led to the Twitter comment that I think was discussed somewhere I hang out if not here specifically.

5 Likes

I just hopped on here to see if someone had shared this yet! As a religion professor, I have to admit after reading this I realized I’ve been spending my time researching the wrong things. Imagine how many more Disney trips I could take if it were for “research purposes.” Could I get grants, institutional travel funding??!! LOL

32 Likes

My son just texted me this. WDW is definitely not a “pilgrimage” to me.

4 Likes

Shift that research focus, friend.

4 Likes

IDK. For a lot of people here, each trip fits the description if you ask me:

4 Likes

I do admit to being a “Disney crazy” but I also think a lot of the Disney Adult hate comes from people that think “Disney is for kids” only. I understand you think I should step aside because I am not a kid.

Edited to clarify my response “I understand you….” is to everyone that thinks adults should not be in the parks without children. (Maybe Epcot is allowed?)

9 Likes

Not specifically “me”, right? The general “you”?

Maybe- that is just not why I go. I go only for fun and a break. We all have our own reasons and none of those reason are wrong.

2 Likes

A Tweet I read asserts the song and mantra “Answer the Call” as proof …

Actually typo- they- actually not a typo- it is my response to those that think Disney is only for kids.

1 Like

Correct.