Mousematt 2020 — help me choose dates!

I’m planning a “budget” trip to WDW next year. My date choices are determined by school dates (though as a tutor I have more flexibility than teachers) and by flight prices. My preferred airline (Virgin) is currently having a “sale”.

I’m looking at six nights at ASMo. I’m taking the very low risk that all the rooms will be refurbished by next summer. Per my other thread, I can only find preferred rooms. But they’re slightly cheaper than Pop and I will have stayed there twice already, so it will be fun to try somewhere else. Pop has the Skyliner — but in the summer? Hmm.

I’ve narrowed it down to three options:

1. Mid to end of June
  2. Overlapping 4th July
  3. End of August / beginning of September.

All three are neutral in terms of Disney pricing. The first two will allow me to use my UOR AP. The first two are neutral as to flight cost; no pricing is available for flights for the third.

Option 1 will be less crowded than Option 2. But, this being my 6th trip, will it be fun to enjoy all the 4th July hullabaloo?

Option 3 will have MNSSHP and lower crowds. And the later I leave it, the more chance new things will be open. But it’s at the end of my summer vacation time and I’ll be impatiently waiting all summer to go. With Option 1, my lessons finish and I’m on a flight the following week! Woohoo! Also Option 3 is deeper into hurricane season. But Option 3 gives me longer to pay. The flight has to be paid for when it is booked, and Disney has to be paid for six weeks before arrival.

Which should I pick? And why?

I would skip the end of August/start of September to avoid hurricane season. I’m indifferent to the other 2 options.

2 Likes

Option 1, less chance of rain and humidity than option 3, less crowds than option 2. If u go end of June, u may still catch some of the 4th hoopla.

2 Likes