Last minute trip

So we recently found out my husband’s business convention allots him his own room…and we were able to snag airline tickets at a very reasonable price! His hotel stay doesn’t start for 4 days after we arrive (we wanted a little time together before he has to work!) and I’m stuck on what to do for a room. It’s the Star Wars Marathon weekend…and everything is just flat booked up this late in the game! We have enough Starwood points to stay at the Dolphin and have a room booked for Saturday and Sunday (the only days available)…should we stay off property those two nights and still try to tackle Disneyworld that weekend or will it just be miserable with the marathon crowds? I’ve never done this before, but should we skip the Disney parks all together that weekend and try out Discovery Cove or Busch Gardens or something like that instead? That feels strange even typing out because we love Disney so much! But I’m wanting to make the most of our time and money. Opinions welcome!

Going to the beach sounds fabulous! I’ve heard New Smyrna Beach is good. You could also do Universal. You can do everything in 2 days, although 3 is easier.

If you do want to do Disney, I would book something off property that’s walking distance to Disney Springs. Then you can use the buses to the parks. I would aim for a room that can be canceled up to 24 hoys in advance though. Sometimes rooms show up at the last minute. People cancel or big booking agencies release the rooms they’ve been holding. I was able to add a night to my POFQ stay in 2014 about 2 weeks in advance.