Is this a crazy idea?

A little background - My family, which includes my nine year old son, lives about 4 hours from Disneyworld. We have visited all the parks twice over the last two years. We have an RV and stay at Fort Wilderness. I am a teacher and can only go on school holidays (can’t stand the heat or crowds in the summer), so we tend to take several short trips a year. We always bemoan the fact that we are so busy rushing to parks (we typically stay from opening to closing in order to do everything that we want to do) that we don’t have time to take advantage of all of the other things to do at Disney - especially at Fort Wilderness. So… this spring break we have planned to go and stay at FW and NOT go to the parks. We are planning several other adventures such as Typhoon Lagoon, DisneyQuest, Cirque de Soleil, the Richard Petty Driving Experience, a concert at the House of Blues and so on. We are also planning to do several dinners/shows at the resorts as well as take advantage of all the things offered at FW. We just thought it would be nice to have a more relaxed trip and get to experience new things. We were just at Magic Kingdom and Hollywood Studios last week. (We did Animal Kingdom and Epcot in October.) I guess my question is - do you think it is crazy to go to Disney and not do the parks? My son is already begging to go back… do you think he will be entertained enough by the other activities? Any suggestions for other fun things to do outside the parks? I’d love any advice.
Thanks.

1 Like

I think it would be awesome! There is so much to do at Ft. Wilderness and around Disney. I’m just not sure I could do it! :smile:

Even though there is so much to do outside of the parks, I also don’t think that I could go and not go to a park.

1 Like

I don’t think I could stand to be so close and not go to the parks. My family would be excited for a 1/2 and 1/2 trip though, every other day in the parks. That actually sounds great to me too!

1 Like