I'm that guy

Typically am a planner, but have put together a last minute trip to Orlando for a father daughter trip before she heads to college. Will be staying at the Swan. 4 full days for WDW and Universal. Right or wrong we are spending three days at WDW. One day at Universal. Our day at Universal is 08/07. I have already purchased the two park with the Unlimited Express pass rider. Have used Touring Plans successfully for the WDW parks but seems like the two park plan for Universal is a little clunky. I am open to advise. I’m a big rope drop advocates at WDW but am considering coming a bit later to Universal and trying to enjoy the HP areas in the evening. I don’t know if we can go all day with the crowds and the heat. Currently have lunch reservations at Mythos. Also have access to the American Express lounge. Sorry for such a broad question but while I feel comfortable touring the WDW parks I am a Universal newbie and there appears to be a lot of knowledge on the forum. Suggestions?

If you only have one day, I’d suggest RD at Universal. Even with Express Pass, there’s a lot of ground to cover. But with Express Pass, you don’t really need to plan at all. Your waits will be very short. I recommend seeing the Harry Potter areas both in daytime and at night, totally different vibe.

We were there from 9th Aug last year and crowds weren’t bad at all, except in Harry Potter areas which were heaving, especially Hogsmeade. There aren’t as many shady areas for a sit down as at WDW, but there are some.

2 Likes

With express pass you will easily see all you need to see in one day without stress

Start in one Harry Potter park. Do it all then get the train to the other Harry Potter do it all then stay in that park for a couple of hours with touring plan minimising your walking

then head back to the train station and back to the other park do Harry Potter again and then the rest of that park

You will have loads of time to rest during the day