How to pick which parks on which days

How does everyone select which parks they go to on each day? My instinct is to simply try for the lowest crowds according to the calendar. But how to you factor in FP, ADRs and Magic Hours?

Since we usually go around the holidays, I usually consider both the crowd level and the hard ticketed events that are occurring during that time. Things like MVMCP and MNSSHP (and whether or not your will attend them) can really affect your nighttime touring plans and have to be taken into consideration.

As for ADRs and fast passes, I have my parks planned out in advance and then book the ADRs and fast passes to match the park days I have already chosen. I personally don’t let extra magic hours sway me that much in my decision making process.

1 Like

I usually go when the CLs are high no matter what (I’m a teacher), so EMH and ADR’s control my selections. I try to take advantage of EMH in MK, but not in the other parks. I’m not an early riser if I don’t have to be. ADRs drive our plans as we tend to “eat around Disney” being that’s its just myself and DW.

2 Likes

I look at CLs first. Then I’ll look to see what is driving those CLs (Is there EMH that day? Is the park closing early for a evening ticketed event? Is it a holiday?) As a dayguest, I immediately eliminate EMH days (or I used to…can’t do that for AK now until end of June or HS for all of July) and parks closing early. Then I chart out all the days I will be in Orlando with the CLs at each park with any days crossed out and determine the best overall days. Sometimes that means going to the lowest CL park each day, and sometimes it may mean going for two moderate days instead of a high and low crowd day depending on how extreme those high and low CLs are.

I also factor in the differences between CLs at Disney and CLs at Universal. A Universal CL7 involves a lot less waiting in line than a Disney CL7.

1 Like