How long do you think Disney will use boarding groups for ROTR

Just wondering if anyone has any educated guesses on how long the boarding group system will be used for ROTR? And also if you think park hours will be extended beyond February 1st. I assume it’s mostly wait and see, but I’m new to this and thought maybe others would have guesses based on previous new rides etc.

We’re just going the first week of February so am interested as to how it may work out thanks!

I’d say the consensus among us “experts” (lol) is that they will continue to use BGs for the foreseeable future - meaning no less than 2-3 months and more likely a year. Based on what continues to happen with FoP I wouldn’t be surprised if the kind of fanaticism you see in the mornings at HS right now continues for 2-3 years. Hopefully 1) the timing will shift back an hour or so eventually; and 2) the ride will become more reliable so they will be able to issue and get through more BGs. But I wouldn’t expect any of that by February.

3 Likes

As you’ve stated, it’s going to be a “wait & see” situation. The next three weeks will give no accurate info for what “normal” operations will be like since it’s the busiest time of the year.

As far as Boarding Groups go, WDW is stating publicly that they’ve been highly successful at both DLR & WDW. I don’t see them going away anytime soon. IMHO - It’ll be months, probably mid to late Spring, at the earliest before FPP is put into place and BGs leave.

Operating Hours in February - IMHO: It’ll be after the MLK weekend - 1/21/19 - before WDW / DHS announces any more changes to their hours.That’s the last holiday weekend after the Christmas / New Years rush. They typically post the updated hours about 10 - 14 days in advance.

I think they’ll continue to open as soon as possible each morning even with announced extended / early opening park hours.