Galaxy’s Edge/EEMH Rope Drop Experience

Hi everyone! This is my first time posting, though I’ve been a lurker on the forums for some time now :slight_smile: I thought I would share my experience rope dropping Hollywood studios (and specifically Galaxy’s Edge) for anyone going in the near future during this EEMH madness.

Myself and my boyfriend (DBF) visited Hollywood Studios on Monday, September 2. As a caveat, crowds levels were SUPER low this day (probably because of the impending hurricane and people canceling their plans), so YMMV. We were staying at the Contemporary, woke up around 4:45 AM, caught a bus shortly after 5, and were in place just past the turnstiles right around 5:30AM.

I would say we were towards the middle back of the pack. There was a sizable crowd at that time but nothing insane. They held us until exactly 6AM, when cast members slowly started to walk us back towards GE. It was dark and crowded, so hard to see much of anything walking there. We stayed towards the very outer left side of the pack, and I felt this was a good move. Many people were bunched up in the middle, and we were able to position ourselves right about the middle of the crowd (compared to the back middle when we started) simply by walking towards the outer edge of the crowd. We were slowly funneled into a smaller and smaller line as we neared MFSR in the back of the park. Cast members were positioned as sort of human traffic barriers to ensure nobody was too far outside of the MFSR “line” as we made our way into GE.