First timer- surprise trip!

Just found out that my DH planned a surprise trip to DL for our 10th anniversary! We are WDW vets, but have never been to DL. We were supposed to go for one day in March of 2020 which obviously didn’t work out.
Since I just found out about this, I’m trying to soak in all the details and learn as much as possible! Any tips are welcome and appreciated, I’m a total DL newbie!

Party: me, DH, DS6, DS2
July 8 and 9
Disney’s grand Californian hotel
Park res for DCA on Thursday, DL on Friday with hoppers.

Flights are booked- we arrive Wednesday afternoon and leave Saturday morning.

15 Likes

I’m going to keep track of my thoughts in this thread, so it’s likely going to be disjointed as I learn things and need to note them. Since I don’t have a ton of time, I’ve got to get this all figured out!

I know we will need to join the virtual queue for webslingers for Thursday and RotR Friday. Is this a similar process as WDW?

4 Likes

What a fantastic surprise!!

6 Likes

I know!! DH is not the best gift giver, but dang he nailed this one! He’s been working on it for three weeks. I knew something was up because he tried to sneakily ask my boss for the days off and that didn’t work lol but I did not guess DL!

5 Likes

Dropping mask rule come June 15

2 Likes

Yes the virtual queue process is the same as WDW. I would just open the app beforehand to get a feel for the minor differences. You can practice at 7am and 12pm Pacific time.

The major difference is the second drop time (12pm vs 1pm at WDW), and the fact that you can apply for a BG at the second drop even if you don’t have a park reservation for that park, as long as you have entered one of the parks that day.

3 Likes

Fancy hotel! Enjoy. I love that hotel and the secret entrance to DCA!

4 Likes

So exciting! Ask ALL the questions! We are here for it!

2 Likes

Questions I’ve thought of so far -