First DLR trip

Ok… Some of you will know me from all my WDW & Universal posts. I’m a double-digit WDW veteran who has NEVER been to DLR / DCA. I wasn’t planning on going until after 2021, but I was just given a good raise & bonus at work. Now, I’m thinking about going to DLR in December 2019. (Solo trip)

I can only afford a “Good Neighbor Hotel”. I don’t care about any amenities. I only need a clean, preferably quiet, room to put my stuff and sleep. I was looking at the standard chains like Country Inn & Suites / Best Western. I am open to any suggestions that are less than $200 / night.

Also, which airport should I fly into? I’ve never been to California, except to LAX on my way international, so I don’t know anything about transportation / distance to DLR from LAX.

I know this has probably been answered before, but I’m hoping all my good karma from answering many WDW / USF questions on the forum will buy me a little patience here!

5 Likes

Hi. DLR is wonderful, glad you get to make a visit. We have stayed at many of the offsite hotels right by the gates at Disneyland. You cannot go wrong with any of these in your price point:
Park Vue Inn
Best Western Park Place Inn or BW Anaheim Inn
My personal favorite Grand Legacy at the Park
Tropicana Inn
Camelot Inn
Anaheim Desert Inn and Suites (though I do not like their pillows so bring your own if you don’t like sleeping on a brick).

Orange County/SNA is the best airport by far. It is only 12 miles from DL. It is a small airport and the difference from LAX is huge. Lyft/Uber is about $20. I will always fly in/out of here unless there is huge savings elsewhere. It really is the best of the best in So Cal.

Long Beach is also a lovely, small airport that is maybe 20 miles from DL. Lyft more like $35 or 40.
Ontario would be my 3rd choice, easy airport but have always had a rental car. 45 min drive.