Fast Passes for a traveling companion who is out of the country at T minus 60 days

I have no experience with MDE or FPP but I am doing my best to sort it out. I searched for the answer to my questions, but am not clear. Any advice would be appreciated.

I have a friend who may join me for my upcoming solo trip. He is out of the country and will be gone well past the 60 day mark for booking FPP. (He has internet access, but is unable/unwilling to make any arrangements while he is away. I already suggested it. Let’s not go there.)

All of the instructions I have found, advise that he should create a MDE account and that I should then send a friend request to link, and finally I can then book FPP for both of us. But this is not possible as he will not have a MDE account until well after the FPP are booked.

Here is my plan:

If he decides to join me, I will order a hard ticket for him to be delivered to my home. Once it arrives, I will add him and his ticket number to MDE. (I assume you can do this because I’m sure folks do this for grandparents or children or other folks in their traveling party?) After he is added, I will book our FPP at the 60 day mark. When he returns, he can then create a MDE account and access the FPP that have been booked for him.

Will my plan work? Any additional advice?

Your plan is exactly correct. You can make all his FP (and ADRs if that interests you–dining reservations that is) but for the FP you will need to have a ticket linked to his name. That is all you need. I’ve always made all the FP for my group of 6. One of our friends who goes with us just pays me back for his ticket when I see him for the trip. I order the ticket to be sure that I get it in time.

Yes you can create a profile for him. Tickets aren’t refundable once linked though (they are reassign able) do make sure you’re comfortable with that before fronting that much $$

Thanks for the answers!