Early bird check in

Do I need it? I always fly Southwest but this is my first time flying into Orlando. I never buy early bird being as I usually fly into Palm Beach and traveling with Kids under 6 I’m able to board between the A and B groups, which is great since there aren’t many kids flying in to Palm Beach.

Now I’m wondering if family boarding will even be an advantage since probably 75% of the people will have kids under 6 with them. Early bird check in would be $60 total but if I don’t get an A boarding it’ll be a waste of money.

If you are confident you can check in at 24 hours on your own, i wouldn’t do it. We’ve boarded B and still sat together. Do you have more than 1 adult? If so, worst case 1 adult each takes a kid or 2

Early bird may be worth it BECAUSE of family boarding. (Funny that my phone autocorrected to “hoarding”). We had low B boarding on hth legsnlast trip and there were so many families that we ended up way in the back anyway. We don’t mind that as - God willing - the whole plane arrives at the same time, but some folks prefer to sit somewhere specific and so in that case early bird would help.

2 adults and 2 kids. We don’t have any seat preference as long as it’s all together. Either 4 across or 2 in one row and the other 2 behind.

We fly SW in Orlando frequently and don’t pay for early bird check in. There does seem to be a good number of people in the family boarding, but never so many that we don’t get seats together. I check in 24 hrs in advance and typically get B boarding of some type.

Same. We always get 2 and 2 but sometimes in the way back

I thought I’d read people saying that there were certain routes (like to Orlando) where they either didn’t do family boarding or put the ceiling age of the kids at 3 or something because otherwise it would be the whole plane. Or maybe it was based on the percentage?

I don’t remember where or if it’s true, but I know I’ve seen it somewhere before.