DVC Rental - So many questions, help!

So I am (more than) ready to start planning my next trip. The empty dashboard blues are real!

I have decided that renting DVC points is the way to go this time around but I have never done it before so I’m feeling a little daunted by the process. I’m hoping some of you can share your knowledge and best practices with me so that I can avoid mistakes from the get go. Any tips are appreciated!

Here’s what I am thinking at this point and a few questions. I want to book early Dec through David’s DVC rental or other similar website for either a solo trip or a girl’s trip that would include me, my Mother, and DD. The problem with this scenario is that my Mother may change her mind and I would book a smaller room if it’s a solo trip. Another potential complication is that we are actually moving to Fl this coming summer. My questions are:

• How early should I book a DVC rental? 11 Months? I saw a chart on David’s DVC that gave a range of 8-11 months. Does this sound right? Do I need to be up at 6am kind of thing? What was your experience?

• Is it possible to change a reservation? Downgrade to a smaller room at a later date if it’s available or are you locked in?

• Is it difficult to add the DDP and how late can this be added?

• Will it complicate things when my address changes a few months ahead of the reservation?

• I will need to get my Mother package type tickets but DD and I will have Fl resident AP after the move. This seems simple enough, however, are there any issues with linking these tickets that I may not be thinking about?

How early - that kind of depends! How badly do you care where you stay? For me, I got my request in right at 11 months, and it took them a few weeks to actually match me with an owner.

I’m pretty sure once you book you’re locked in, because the owner has committed those points and you’ve paid. You can’t change.