DLR and Aulani trip — Any advice

Hello! We are dreaming of a big trip to Disneyland and then to Aulani sometime in 2021. I am just beginning my research. We are big fans of WDW but have never been to DLR or Hawaii. I’d love to hear from anyone who has done this or has any tips/advice in general. TIA!

1 Like

I spent part of the day at Aulani when I was on Oahu last month. The rooms are great and the property is gorgeous. The lazy river alone is almost enough to get me stay there. That said, where you choose to stay should depend upon what you’d like to do. As a former resident that visits yearly, I prefer to stay in Honolulu to be closer to the sights and activities that I like, such as climbing Diamond Head, snorkeling, shopping in Waikiki and at Ala Moana. If you are looking for pure tropical relaxation, Ko Olina (where Aulani is) is perfect, but kind of far from most tourist spots (in Hawaii terms). Most places are within 30-45 minutes, but traffic can be brutal. Hawaii itself is magnificent and glorious and I encourage anyone with the means to visit, no matter where you stay. There are so many things to see and do, I can’t imagine staying anywhere on Oahu without a car.

2 Likes

I love Aulani! I stayed there for a few days with my family a couple of years ago. The pool and lazy river are so much fun. The kids loved the splash pad and I enjoyed the slide. The beach area is tame but great for families with small children or adults who just want to sunbathe. Not good for body surfing or if you enjoy large waves.