Disney Dining Plan: Worth it?

I’ve been to WDW many, many times, but this is the first trip that I have planned myself. My dad and stepmom always do the dining plan, for convenience, but I’m not really sure if it saves you money or not. I planned a trip in October for my sister and I, she hasn’t been to Disney since she was 3, and I’m trying to decide if I should or shouldn’t do the dining plan. We have reservations at The Edison, The Crystal Palace, Tusker House, 'Ohana, Sci-Fi Dine in, 1900 Park Fare, Chef Mickeys, and Bon Voyage Character Breakfast. Most of our dining reservations are breakfast(my sister’s a vegetarian), and we’ll be down in WDW for food and wine festival. I’m a college student, and I’ve paid for this whole trip myself(birthday/high school graduation gift for my sister), so any advice on if we should or shouldn’t do the dining plan would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Try this site www.distripplanner.com which will calculate it for you.

3 Likes

Have you tried this calculator? I always start by looking at the numbers here :slight_smile:

https://www.distripplanner.com/

4 Likes

You beat me!

3 Likes

Haha! Great minds…

3 Likes

I will second @PrincipalTinker and @missoverexcited on distripplanner being a great tool, but I will also add that, as a general rule – a vegetarian with mostly breakfast reservations is going to really, really struggle to get their money’s worth on the dining plan.

4 Likes

No, I haven’t. Thank you! I’ll definitely look at that :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Yeah, her being a vegetarian is one of the reasons I was thinking of not doing it

3 Likes

So, another question. Roughly how much do you think we should save up for food if we aren’t doing the dining plan?

1 Like