Confused about the December crowd…

Hi! I am not a Disney expert, but I’m trying to do enough research and planning to make our 2.5 days at Christmas go as well as it can.

Apparently I chose some of the worst possible days of the year to go. (Dec 19-21) Yaaaaay. I’m checking crowds for our days, and they’re very red. One thing I’m confused about is this… December 19 (Sunday) is our first day. We won’t get there until later in the afternoon/early evening. Dec 19 is a MK After Hours ticket night, but it’s showing that it’s (by far) the lightest park at WDW. It’s at a 5, while all the other parks are 8s and 9s. Is the park really that “empty” on special event ticket days? Or is it even too soon to tell? I was purposely trying to avoid MK on the After Hours days, thinking it’d be PACKED.

It likely will be packed when the after hours crowd can start to enter. But a lot of people will avoid that park that day because of the more limited hours. If you were just going in the morning and then leaving when the after hours folks start to show it may be a very pleasant experience.

Given your arrival is late in the day though, I would say it is probably wise to avoid it as it will close early and you’ll be in the worst time where the after hours folks start to arrive so it will be busy.

1 Like

Sundays tend to be light at MK anyway, IIRC, because it tends to be a travel day that draws that group of people out of the park. Added to that the fact it’s a party night and it might just be that low.

Although with party not starting til later, and thus park hours not ending quite so early as in the past, I’m not sure that’s quite as reliable a prediction as it would once have been.

1 Like