April 2nd - April 10th Trip - Lots of Questions

Let me preface by saying I am an avid researcher, but can’t keep up with everything I read. I’m looking for confirmations, opinions, facts…whatever you have. I’m going to hop around a bit. I will be brief where I can, but definitely want to cover a good amount of info.

This is also my first trip staying off-property. This is probably the best info I can bring back from my trip with people trying to decide if it is worth staying on property or not. I will definitely report the good, the bad, and the ugly. For the record, we have previously stayed at a 1-bedroom Deluxe for the full kitchen and washer/dryer. Disney wanted a tick over $11,000 for a low-end deluxe 1-bedroom and 5-day tickets. We elected to go 2 miles across the way to the Marriott World Resort/Sabal Palms. Pools look amazing and the condo we are renting there is nearly 50% bigger than the deluxe. We are driving down to Disney, and even taking parking into account, for the 8-nights and 5-day tickets, we are coming in just under $5,000. That is $6,000 less than the privilege of getting into the park 30-minutes early and a couple extended evenings. Of course, I”m happy to buy G+ and $ILL whenever I can as a result. I did look into renting points, but would have to have a split stay, The savings of the 1-bedroom was there, but it wasn’t anything to write home about. Maybe there is just pent-up demand and point prices will drop soon. Hope we don’t regret staying offsite.

Magic Bands - Barring the release of Magic Bands +, is there really any reason to buy these?

Trip is being built around RotR, TP is saying it is a 1 day at HS. No way that is the case, but I’m hoping it is the least crowded day of the week. Not sure what my chances are of snagging a $ILL at 9 am. Nothing to be done about it I guess.