Anyone work 3rd shift?

I am interviewing for 3rd shift warehouse work and expect to get a job offer soon. I have never worked 3rd shift before so it will be quite a change for me. Of course, some of the first concerns that cross my mind are Disney-related. Does anyone here work 3rd shift? How have you handled vacations while doing this? I don’t know how I’d be able to stay up all day at Disney while being used to sleeping during the day. We have a WDW trip planned for May 2022, and I really want to experience the most out of it. Any suggestions, tips, etc. would be very welcome!

1 Like

Most of my adult life was spent on some sort of midnight shift- thankfully retired now.

To be honest all those years of traveling to disney never once gave it a second thought.

Got off work around 7 am- headed straight to airport with family…napped on plane.

Only one time it was a problem- we had cirque tickets first night. Soon as the lights when down I passed out. Kids said it was great though.

Traveling home was the same in reverse played in park napped on plane & family dropped me off at work.

Not a big deal you get used to it.

3 Likes

Well, you make it sound so easy! I don’t know, I’m a light sleeper and tend to have issues changing my sleep schedule. Once I get used to sleeping during the day, I worry it will be tough for me to switch back. But maybe not? I guess I’ll just have to try experimenting before our trip to see how easily I can swap between sleep schedules.

Oh switching back completely that’s a whole different thing…Took nearly 3 years to be awake after retirement.

But disney was fairly easy- by the time your trip rolls around you will have experienced holidays, family stuff and will be accustomed to switching it up

1 Like