Allergy Issues

This is my first time traveling to Walt Disney World after discovering a few severe food allergies. I’ve joined some Disney allergy groups and have been doing research on my own – even emailed dietary services. My problem is that I’m still confused about how to navigate eating on my trip next week because my allergies are unusual - mostly to food additives and preservatives that I’m not sure people would know if it was in the food being served. Does anyone have any advice about what I can do beyond requesting the allergy binders at each food location? I’m hesitant to do any sit down restaurants because of my restrictions, but I have no idea what I can live on for the three days I’m there. And do the binders have ingredient breakdowns for the foods at each location? Thanks!

Hopefully many other can chime in on this, but I’ve seen several trip reports of people with food allergies and it seemed that they ate TS almost exclusively because the chef will come out to your table and customize your meal however needed. QS is not able to do that and customized orders can take a long time for them to prepare.

My Dad is on a very, very low sodium diet. He only eats at TS (no QS). He asks to see the chef to discuss his food restriction when our server first comes to our table. The chefs have always been very accommodating.

Adding to my previous post, almost every TS restaurant we went to was able to make him an unseasoned piece of fish with plain rice or potatoes and plain steamed vegetables.

1 Like