A lurker’s trip report

I’ve been lurking in here for several months and since I love reading trip reports, I’ve decided to write one for my trip.

This is my 3rd trip to Disney. I went once when I was 13 with a friend and her parents, staying at a campsite in their motor home. They used something to the UG and I remember running through ques at the end of the night to go on splash and big thunder. My last trip was 3 years ago, in early December. DH and I took our girls, then ages 5 & 10 and my parents. DD10 had been saving money for years to go to Disney. We kept the trip a secret until we were in the airport. They were shocked and it was a fantastic week.

Around 5 months ago I found a conference in my specialty (I work in healthcare) hosted at the Contemporary and made a spur of the moment decision that I wanted to go! As a bonus, it was in March and I live in Maine so escaping the snow was perfect. And a bigger bonus, work paid for my flight and the hotel stay. We left the kids home for this trip, trying to keep costs down and didn’t want them to miss school. We didn’t tell them where we were going, aside from a conference in Florida (spoiler alert, they were not impressed when they found out we’re at Disney).

Day 1- the longest day ever.
We had a 5:30 am flight scheduled. The day before i got out of work early at 5, (9 hour shift instead of 12!) finished packing and got ready to go. We left the kids with my mom and drove 2 hours south with the dogs to my brother in laws house, he was watching them for the weekend. Went to bed at 9 and were up and ready to go at 1:30 am, headed south to the airport. Another 2 hour drive and we arrived to rope drop at Logan!