A Disney Springs Reward Stay Trip Report (Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista)

Disclaimer: I am no pro at this.

We woke up this morning ready to leave our couple day stay on Jekyll Island. We packed the car, said goodbye to some family that was staying a few more days and some other family that was flying back to Ohio. We ser out towards the center of Jekyll Island and parked, ready to spend our last hour on the beach. Our son, who just this July spent a week running away in terror from the Ocean and the beach, was relishing in his newfound confidence that he too could brave the waves lapping at his ankles. He spent the hour chasing the sandpipers and seagulls, and digging up scallops and sand dollars, and even a sole moon snail. All creatures left in their original locations, give or take a few meters, it was time to clean up and start the drive in earnest.

Crossing the Florida Georgia line, the traffic shifted. Florida drivers are bat shit crazy. We escape the insane at one point for a brief bite to eat at Zaxby’s, an oddysey for a northerner. It is not as good as remembered. We press on, driving in a like manner as all of the other crazies. Traffic soon comes to a brief standstill. We hop off I4 WB and navigate a few unmemorabpe Orlando streets, before rejoining I4. Traffic has improved. Before long, we are turning onto Hotel Plaza Blvd. The excitement sets in as we pass through the giant cartoonish gates sporting a larger than life Mickey. We turn left into the median, waiting for our chance to play Frogger with the traffic standing between us and entry into our hotel parking lot.