Thoughts on renting DVC points? Never done before

I’ve recently heard a lot from several people about the potential savings in renting DVC points and it’s got me curious. We’ve only ever booked directly through Disney, and I am just beginning to read up on the DVC point rental process. It seems interesting and like it could really work for us, we’re planning on possibly taking a shorter trip this year and trying to save where we can.
From what I’ve found so far there are two reputable rental sites that keep coming up - David’s and DVC Rental Store. Any thoughts/info (good or bad) on either would be very appreciated as I am a total newbie to this! Is it advantageous to book w/ one of them vs the other? Anything different I should know about ahead of time before deciding to book this way vs directly through Disney? A big question we have - we don’t miss out on the 60 day FP+ selections do we?
Thanks!!

1 Like

Haven’t been able to secure a reservation through David’s, but I was impressed with their responsiveness and customer service for our deposit note, David’s requires payment in full upfront, including a $98 deposit (which is promptly returned if they can’t get you your requests). Would have no qualms working with them again.

I use DVC rental store. Great customer service (Katrina is my contact), they don’t charge to check availability. You don’t pay the entire payment up front once they find a match, you pay about half with the other half due 6 weeks out. It is such a great way to stay deluxe, for April we are staying at BCV and paying about 43% less than we could have gotten on the Disney website, so it is substantial savings. Everything is the same as if you booked it yourself, once the stay is booked and the contract is signed, you will get the confirmation number to link to MDE. You will get FPP at 60 days. If you haven’t already, read this as it will help to understand the process. How It Works - DVC Rental Store