Is it better to utilize extended hours in the morning (e.g. opening at 8 AM on 10/23 with a crowd rating of 7) or go on a low rated crowd day without the extended hours (10/27 with crowd rating of 5)?

Is it better to utilize extended hours in the morning (e.g. opening at 8 AM on 10/23 with a crowd rating of 7) or go on a low rated crowd day without the extended hours (10/27 with crowd rating of 5)?

So…I’ve never been to Disney World (first trip is in December), but I’m a researcher by nature and from things I have read it seems that parks that have extended hours, especially in the AM, are actually busier on those days than anticipated. People make plans to attend the parks so they can participate in the extended hours, but if their plans change and they don’t make the morning extended hours they still most likely will stick with their plan to attend that park thus the added bodies. Again, I have nothing to base this off of other than things I have read. Would love to hear what more seasoned WDWers have to say on this.

I would prefer to go to the less crowded park myself. It’s just more pleasant. While you can use the extended hour to ride something that is usually crowded, you probably need to be at the park by rope drop to make it worthwhile. After the hour is over (if it’s a morning hour) the park will be crowded with everyone.

Agree. Definitely do the lower crowd day. You will not get much extra ride time out of that 1 extra hour, and as already stated, the park will fill up fast.

Make a personalized TP and optimize it for each day. Then go with the day/plan that you like better.