Help with Spring Break crowds and access to HP worlds with 1 day/2 park TP

Hi everyone,

Universal newbie here. I’ve been reading the UG 2017, which was published prior to the inclusion of the Harry Potter attractions in the Express Pass system and I’m wondering what impact that has had on touring plans and the recommended order.

Also, we are going during Spring break and the UG says that access to Hogsmeade may be limited for part of the day. The one day-2 park TP for non-resort guests has us arriving at 11 AM for 5 hours, then returning to Universal. I don’t want to waste time queuing to get in, or have a return time foil our plans since we’re trying to do this in just one day.

Should we plan on doing IOA at RD instead, stick with the 1 day/2 park touring plan (Uni to IOA to Uni, or start at Uni, but stay longer and go to IOA in the late afternoon?

I’m a WDW TP veteran, but I’ve never experienced a situation like this before. Sure, a ride may be down, but I’ve never experienced a park or a “land” closed to capacity with return times. I’m not sure what do with this information.

Thanks for your help!

Are you staying on property? That will make a big difference, because it will allow you access to one of the Wizarding Worlds an hour early. If so, I’d absolutely make use of that to get the HP attractions out of the way, and the EPs that come with staying on property will help tremendously with lines.

If that’s not the case, then I’d follow the touring plan that the site gives you. Start with the 1 day/2 park plan, take out anything that doesn’t interest you (and add anything that isn’t there already) and then optimize it for that date. It’s going to be very similar to WDW from a touring perspective: the limited capacity at the Wizarding Worlds is going to be similar to what happened at Pandora in the early days.

Hopefully that helps! If not, fire back and we can help further.